## POINT BY POINT

The Latest News About NJIT Sports njithighlanders.com



## NJIT ATHLETICS ANNOUNCES 2020 HALL OF FAME INDUCTION CLASS

NJIT Athletics announced that the 2020 Hall of Fame Class will comprise 11 new members. The Annual Hall of Fame induction banquet will be held May 16, 2020 in NJIT's Wellness and Events Center.

The 2020 induction class will include: Kelly (Crowe) Ascolese '07 (Women's Basketball), Demond Cowins '04 (Men's Basketball), Bob English (Robert Swanson Recipient), Wycliffe Gordon '00 (Men's Volleyball), King Moy '74 (Herb M. Iris Recipient), John Rapsomanikis '68 (Men's Soccer), Erika Taugher '08, '09 M.S. (Women's Soccer), Steve Tice '00 (Baseball), Wayne Webb '58 (Men's Basketball), Sonia Zacher-Martini '88, (Women's Volleyball), and the late Vincent Naimoli '62, '09 HON (Benefactor). This year's class marks the 19th in school history.

"I am so very happy to recognize these 11 outstanding individuals as the newest members of the Highlander Athletic Hall of Fame," said Lenny Kaplan, associate vice president/director of athletics. "This is a true embodiment of the history, tradition, excellence and progress of Highlander athletics. These individuals have set the standard by which we measure our success."

The NJIT Athletic Hall of Fame was founded in 1986 by then-director of

athletics J. Malcolm Simon in conjunction with the NJIT Alumni Association. The first class of inductees included multisport standout John Walsh '66, soccer All-American Hernan "Chico" Borja '81, beloved coach and professor Joseph M. Fitzgerald, and longtime Director of Athletics Robert Swanson. Simon, also the school's all-time winningest coach, was inducted upon his retirement as athletics director in 1994. In all, 44 individuals and three teams were honored through 1996. After a five-year hiatus, the Hall of Fame was revived in 2002 by Kaplan. When the Class of 2020 is welcomed, the Hall's membership will stand at 81.



## MEN'S SWIMMING AND DIVING REPEATS AS ECAC WINTER CHAMPIONS

For the second year in a row and the fourth time overall, the NJIT men's swimming and diving team earned the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Winter Championship title.

The Highlanders wrapped up their latest championship performance at the Nassau County Aquatic Center, defeating second-place Fairfield by 236.5 points, 2038.5 to 1802.

Freshman Jake Nelms was named Men's Swimmer of the Meet, while NJIT head coach Ron Farina was named Men's Coach of the Meet.

Nelms made the most of his first ECAC Winter meet, picking up four medals (1 G, 2 S, 1 B) in his five events and helping NJIT's 800 Free Relay place in the top five.

In his second year with the Highlanders, Farina has led NJIT to back-to-back ECAC Winter crowns and won Coach of the Meet honors both times.